Tags

, , , , ,

Anyone who’s spent any amount of time on my blog knows I like to flex my theological muscle. OK, OK, not in the bragging, but in the exercise sense of the word. I love theology, but not so much for the answers it helps you find, as valuable and rewarding that is, but for the personal journey it invites you to take. I love the theological process more than the destination it leads you to. While we’re on this let me clear something out of the gate:

    Good theology will always produce answers that generate more questions, because true answers do not close your mind but open it to new possibilities.

So while I theologize here, thus inevitably uttering statements of truth, I never mean to give them an absolute value or some finality touch, but just another point to hang my weight as I climb the mountain of human quest for meaning.

As I thought about what this blog seeks to embark on I realized that Gym metaphor is a fitting one. As much as you would like to have the muscles of someone you respect (using sometimes shortcuts and gimmicks), you know you will have to eventually exercise. You should definitely learn from what others have done, you should take note of what builds muscles, but you will have to figure what works for you. You will have to build your own muscles. The same is with theology. You should never try to emulate someone else’s theology however well-rounded it may be or whoever (even if canonized) the theologian happens to be. We should pay attention to the questions that theology is trying to answer and the process it seeks to get there.

    Same questions asked in different contexts, at separate times, for differing reasons and by people on distinct journeys will take you to … well … different destinations.

We should engage others who’ve theologized before us not to copycat their conclusions, but to learn with them how to draw our own. All I am saying is, we should start to exercise those atrophied theological muscles. We’ve been spoon-fed for way too long. The church has been in this vegetative stage for more than it remembers. We’ve got to start unplugging those IV tubes one, by one, by one … until we’re back on our feet. I, for one, am planning to do that. Will you join me? Will you stop by my Theology Gym and exercise with me? I won’t be able to do this for too long if I do it alone!

As I re-launch my blog, I need exercise buddies. Will you follow (by clicking “Follow” button) my blog? Will you engage (exercise) with comments?