Tags

, , , , , , ,

After a year (sort of – I didn’t really blog for the whole year, but I did start in January and here we are in December :=)) of blogging I’ve come to learn (reading other blogs and the actual writing of the blog) a few things about this craft of blogging which I hope will show in 2010. Here are some.

Writing shorter posts helps not only the readers (obviously I am not the only blog to read) but helps the writer too. Providing quality content (words, sentences and paragraphs that make people think while offering a pleasurable reading) on a regular basis is not an easy task. Breaking an idea in a series of posts seems to do the magic. So, I am considering writing posts of no more than around 500 words and publishing weekly with a new post every Monday (with the way my life is going now I just can’t do this daily or more than once a week – or maybe because I am not as disciplined … ouch!!!).

It seems that my niche is theological conversation. Particularly rethinking theology and expressing it simply. I strongly believe that we all do theology, that we all have an idea of God and this/His world being shaped by and shaping our day to day living. We just don’t think much about it and as a result we allow someone else (the experts) do the thinking for us. Since the experts naturally tend to erect fancy edifices of language constructs and have intellectual orgies inside them, no wonder we think like that. Every once in a while, though, an expert descends and speaks the commoner’s language and we feast on what we hear. We realize that’s something we hunger for, that we want more of that (whatever that is).

I’ve found in the emergent conversation a place where people do just that. Not only do the emergents have Luther-like guts to ask tough questions and envision new, more satisfying theological horizons but they have effectively brought the theological conversation to the “masses” by encouraging to do church in circles instead of rows. People are invited to speak their minds with courage and work-out their theological muscle. The result is more robust communities who instead of doing things just because the experts say so, they are brewing their theology with a sense of ownership.

Is it too much to ask you, the reader for encouragement? I value your feedback. What have you liked so far in my writing? What would you change? What would you like to read more? Am I going in a good direction with the changes I want to implement in the following year? I am opened to ideas, suggestions etc.

Thank you for visiting my blog and joining me in the conversation. Your comments have given me hope for writing and encouraged me to go for another year. Comments just put a face to visits I see on this blog. Thank you for all those that have spread the word, you’ve helped immensely.